2014: The Year of Making Things Happen

I entered 2014 in complete surrender to the Lord for His plans to take over my life. But I also entered the past year with so much hope and armed with faith, that the best is yet to come. Boy, was I overwhelmingly surprised.

TRAVEL PLANS

In 2014, my husband and I were able to cross out a few of the places in our bucket list- such as snorkeling in Mindoro’s majestic Apo Reef, swam in the pristine waters of beautiful El Nido, saw up close the wonders of the Banaue Rice Terraces in Ifugao and enjoying the paradise that is Batanes. In a span of almost five months since 2014 began, we were here, there and everywhere enjoying ourselves as a couple. Those trips in the early part of 2014 bonded us much closer together too. While my husband and I don’t always have the smoothest of times together out of town (yes, we fight too on trips), there’s still no one else I’d take on any adventure with but with him. He calms me, puts me in my proper place and gives me the sense of it all when I’m too pre-occupied by the pettiness of small obstacles. 2014 will always be memorable in our travel diaries, because of so much good memories in those beautiful places we’ve been too together.

ADVOCACY WORK

Unlike previous years of doing DiksyonaryoAtbp, 2014 was quite uneventful in terms of the number of outreach projects done as they were very limited the past year. But that was intentional, as I entered 2014 looking at just two major outreach projects and a Summer Reading Camp in mind for DA. Luckily, we were able to pull off a successful outreach in Occidental Mindoro in partnership with Project Laging NaReian and were able to send help to Yolanda kid survivors in Leyte and Eastern Samar. But the biggest DA achievement I consider for 2014 was the jam packed Summer Reading Camp we organized in May. It was a first in so many ways for me personally, and for our advocacy, and it is something I’m planning to do again this year. While I chose to lay low in doing DA for the duration of my pregnancy, I am eternally grateful to each and every individual/ group who have extended help in their own little way to make all our 2014 plans a reality.

SURPRISE!

But I guess my biggest surprise for 2014 and that which truly defined my year, was the fact that I got pregnant. Indeed, many are our plans but only God knows the perfect time and why. My much awaited pregnancy came when we least expected it, probably that’s why it meant so much more to us than if it came early on when we were so eager for it to happen. I also believe God answered our prayer in His most perfect time- because the baby came when both Eder and I have completely adjusted to each other and learned the ropes in how to handle our young marriage. 2014 was definitely about Aiyah, and while the year ended with her still inside my tummy- I’m extremely grateful to the Lord for this blessing growing inside of me.

WHAT TO EXPECT IN 2015?

In my previous New Year blog for 2014, I began a tradition of writing down things I believe in for the new year instead of writing down things I want to have/ achieve/ do. As proven, when we no longer lay out our own plans, God’s plans take over and they prove to be so much better. So for 2015, I shall write the three things I believe to be true in my life this year:
1. God will never leave nor forsake me, my family and my child.
2. Trust in the Lord with all your heart, mind and soul and things will be alright.
3. It doesn’t matter if you’re doing it alone or with others, just do good for the sake of doing good.

Thank you 2014, you definitely made things happen for me and my family. May 2015 be as surprising, and even more. May you all have your heart’s desires this New Year.

And by the way, see you soon my dearest Aiyah.

Leave a comment